Allergy Resources

Buckwheat Allergy


Key Allergens

Buckwheat is not actually related to wheat as it is not a grass, but it produces grain like seeds which can be used to replace cereals.

Buckwheat does not contain any gluten, so is becoming a more popular ingredient and can be eaten by coeliacs.

Buckwheat contains 4 key allergens. Two of them are vicilin like. Fag e 2 is a 2S seed storage allergen. These allergens make buckwheat more like seeds than cereals.


Syndromes

Allergy to buckwheat is not currently associated with any allergic syndromes.


Cross Reactivity

Other food containing 2S albumin seed storage proteins are cashews, peanuts, almonds, mustard seed, rapeseed, turnip, chickpeas, hazelnuts, pistachio, brazil nuts, soya beans, sunflower seeds, walnuts, kiwi, castor beans and sesame seeds.

Other foods containing vicilin like proteins are cashew, pecan, hazelnuts, brazil nuts, soyabean, walnut, lentil, lupin, peas, sesame and mung bean.

Follow us