Durum wheat is different from common wheat and is most commonly used to make pasta products, semolina, bulgar wheat and cous cous.
There is only one key allergenic protein in durum wheat, Tri tu 14, which is a lipid transfer protein (LTP).
Durum wheat contains gluten and should be avoided if you suffer from coeliac disease.
An allergy to durum wheat has been linked to wheat dependent exercise induced anaphylaxis (WD-EIA).
Durum wheat allergy has been linked to Baker's Asthma, which is caused by an allergic reaction to inhaled cereal flours - thought to be caused by lipid transfer proteins.
There is cross reactivity with other cereals, especially those which also contain LTP proteins such as wheat and maize.